64 Comments
Jun 3, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I would say my 50s were pretty great. My 2 sons were out of the dreaded teens and now working and doing great. They challenged me to go back to school and for a time all 3 of us were in different colleges. I started at 53, went to Europe for the first time at 55 as the oldest person in a study abroad program, graduated with another degree at age 56. loved all of it except losing my Dad. Now I am 70 and I am not doing as well as I had hoped, covid and isolation took it's toll on my plans, my health both physical and mental. Still I have big plans with a cross country move and return to my childhood state soon. I am teaching myself how to do things as a widow. I am planning to spend more time in Italy and France in the next few years and enjoying my grand, my 2 sons and my siblings. I am planning to buy a few presses so I can do bookarts and create some neat things. I am planning dinner parties and a fab flower and veg garden when I move. And maybe another German Shepherd puppy...live is pretty good and can and will be better.

Expand full comment

I love the concept, but maybe it isn’t the person’s age but the decade they lived in. The 90’s seemed very good and calm. The economy, confident country, post Cold War, before terrorists, less plane hijackings. Clinton’s sexual dalliances were the biggest national issue. I don’t recall how old I was.

No matter the age for Jews in Germany late 30’s early 40’s weren’t good years.

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

Born in 54. 69 next week.

Short answer is today, this week and month and this decade.

The past was great with it's many successes, joys, fears and failures. But, we live today for tomorrow.

Still each decade left strong memories:

50s - play, 1st grade, air raid practice

60s - great public education, JFK, MLK, RFK, immense sadness. Vietnam, moon landing, Scouting, orchestra

70s - HS, paid own way to MIT, met wife, left research and started marketing at BigCorp.

80s- fast professional and personal growth. Many achievements and firsts. Risks vs stability

90s - a less great decade

00s - incredible growth and risks and Tucson!

10s - more of 00s

20s more and better of the 00s and 10s

46 yrs married. No kids. Lots of animals and books and art and fun

Expand full comment

So far, my sixties have, well... sucked. I'm officially halfway through the decade and have spent a good chunk of my retirement funds on medical care: deductibles, copays, and the infamous, "No, we don't participate with Blue Cross so you'll have to pay out of pocket." BUT, it's going to get better because 1) I am finally on Medicare with the best supplement, 2) after next week's surgery I will be free of breast cancer, and 3) I already have reservations to hike around Lake Louise and Banff in the Canadian Rockies come August with my incredible son. As a Latina, I've honestly had a charmed life, came of age when women actually had rights, the government started caring about the environment with the EPA, I married a good guy, got my own loans and ran my own practice for forty years - enough to have saved enough for the aforementioned healthcare garbage. I've written novels, paid off my house, and helped put my kid through college & law school. I've exercised my right to protest and I've worked elections. The latter half of my sixties onward will be my strongest - the world and the fascists had better buckle up.

Expand full comment

I am 87 and every decade has had its own moments. We had 3 kids by my twenties and my husband was a firefighter and I had decided to go back to school and be an RN. It was hard, but we never regretted our choices. When the kids were older we started to travel and saw much of the world beyond the USA. Then we bought a series of RV’s, each one nicer than the last we traveled to 47 states and decided to settle down where it all began in Brooklyn,Ohio. My husband developed kidney disease and our daughter donated a kidney for him that gave him 4 more years.I have been a widow for nine years, surrounded by children,5 granddaughters,11 great grands and my very good memories.I talk to the grands a lot about family and history so some day they will remember me and grandpa with smiles and love.

Expand full comment

I will be 80 in two months. If I make it, it will be my best decade, assuming I get at least most of these next ten years. Why? Because I've been around the block more than a few times, met my partner, who walks with me still, did the usual family thing, stumbled a few times, but got up and kept going on my path. I now approach the 80s decade with a fair amount of patience, wisdom, and humor, all of which I plan to use to enrich the time I have left. I will be more audience than participant in this decade as I witness great changes approaching in this country, on this planet. What I see and hear will be the raw material of my art and writing, the two activities I enjoy most in this world at this time.

Expand full comment

Approaching 72 in a few months. I have to say that the most interesting and liberating time in my life were in 1969 and the very early 70’s. I was 18 years old, out of the house, going to college in DC during the “sexual revolution” and Mary Jane usage. Music was (and still is) awesome, people were kind to one another, peace signs were important, protesting the Vietnam War was a must, getting Nixon out of power. So necessary for a young impressionable Southern Jewish girl to be a part of.

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023·edited Jun 3, 2023

Every decade has gotten better! At eighty-four just waking up every morning is joyous. What could possibly be better than that?

Expand full comment

I like to hold onto the belief that each decade will get better than the last and so far it has but I’m only in my 20s.

I had a fun childhood, my teens were challenging and full of growth, and my twenties had been full of self discovery and understanding what I want long term

I hope that the second half of my twenties includes establishing myself as a writer and building long term relationships

I can hope that my 30s includes finding a life partner, maybe starting a family, but I’ve learned it’s best not to try and plan life out.

What advice would you guys give someone in their twenties?

Expand full comment

I'm with David Bowie: "Aging is an extraordinary process where you become the person you always should have been." I just hit 65 and the years keep getting richer, deeper, lighter, more full, more full of joy.

Expand full comment

The most fun I've ever had was during the last half of the 1940s, right after WWII. We'd moved to Hermosa Beach, California. Dad, just out of the Army Air Corps, was earning more each year. He'd piloted a bomber over Germany and people loved him for his service -- plus he was charming. Mom was a friend magnet. One of her friends served us tacos!

It even snowed--well, there were flakes--one night. We didn't miss snow (or leggings) but we loved the flakes. We'd moved from a small town outside of Cincinnati -- population *today*: 500.

We got a new baby (#4). And bikes on brother's birthday, 10 days before mine. Our weekly allowance of $1 each was just for fun. Our life was sand, sun, waves, diving off big rocks, biking/exploring the South Beach area -- 101 was quiet except a little busy on weekends -- pop music on the strand, and 25c ProntoPups. School was fun, too: math, art, friends, parties, the playground.

That era was idyllic for a lot of kids. There's really only today, but I cherish those memories. I even wrote a photo narrative for family and friends.

Expand full comment

I have hope for the next decade to be, kids are raised, flourishing and vote blue, retirement on the horizon and relative good health (the Dolt 45* years & J6 took a toll) which will improve immensely when justice is served. 💙🗽

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023·edited Jun 3, 2023

Like several others, I found the fifties awesome for many reasons, but mostly "coming into my own". Still, the other decades each offered just what was needed and good as well as difficult lessons were learned. Now I am going to be 78 this year and my seventies have been fabulous too. Yes, there is "decline", which is natural with a mortal incarnation, AND there are so many benefits as we look back and integrate and loosen things that moor us (even though the mooring was/is also essential). I've been watching intervews with Tina Turner since her recent death and in her most recent ones, she spoke of being accepting and at peace with the inevitability of dying and death. THAT is a huge blessing and also helps us appreciate EVERY moment we have no matter our physical age. Ironically (or not), I believe the more we embrace our own mortality, the more we ALSO embrace life, more and more fully. That IS my experience. Love reading all your reflections!

Expand full comment

Steven, I am looking forward to the upcoming decade. I am 79, and I hope to make it to 80 then 90. I have chosen at least some positivity in all of my decades. My late 20s were unpleasant, especially stressful due to a contentious divorce, but I got through it. Then as 30 came about I met and married a wonderful woman, a person I describe as a true soulmate. Going on 48 years now. Some good in all of my decades, but I am especially interested in what's coming in my 80s. My ups and downs have leveled off, and despite some "old age" aches and pains I am roaring to tackle what happens next! Thanks, Steven, for your comments about life!

Expand full comment

Right now at 77 and 81 my spouse and I are the youngest age we will ever be again. 56 years of a great marriage and we have a lot to look forward to now. We enjoy your optimism, it made a difference to us during The 4 years of insanity 16 to 20 and the horror of Jan 6. Thank you and we plan to keep enjoying the best days of our lives now.

Expand full comment

Thank you for sharing your story. You have earned the respect you receive from your followers.

My favorite decade was my 30s when I invented and successfully marketed a new type of recreational vehicle. Seeing a dream become a reality was singularly thrilling.

The thrill was soon to be lost due to the 1973 Arab oil embargo. It taught me to never take anything for granted, whether it be in business or in your personal life.

Right now I don’t take our Democracy for granted and will fight with my pen to try to secure its’ future.

Expand full comment

My teens were travel, partings and reuniting. We were gypsies in our 20s, serious parents in our 30s, confronting hard transitions in our 40s, living tragedies in our 50s, grateful in our 60s. Thoughtful in our 70s now. Happiest? Any day that connected us despite the diaspora of our families.

Expand full comment

Always the one I’m living!

Expand full comment

My fifties were my greatest years. I spent quite a few years raising my daughter on my own. After putting us both through college, and after she was out on her own, I was able to sell the house, put everything in storage, and I was able to use my skills, knowledge, and experience as a travel nurse. I lived and worked in 6 states in 6 years, traveling across this beautiful country with only the essentials that fit in my Honda. I retired right before the pandemic. I look back on my travels as the best times of my life. I was healthy, happy, at the height of my career. I tell my daughter that the best is yet to come.

Expand full comment

I have to agree with 50’s. I was professionally and personally in a great place - kids grown and living their lives; I had finished grad school late in my 40’s and now it was paying off literally and figuratively. I enjoyed my work immensely and my family and friends as well. i was able to travel to places I always wanted to see. My 60’s and soon to be 70’s have been filled with grandchildren, surgeries, aging parent, aging self. We’ll see what 70’s bring...

Expand full comment

Thought I would say my 30s when I had my babies and my career took off. But having just turned 60 I think this will be my best decade, work is envigorating and Im finally doing what I love, my kids are grown and turned out to be great people, and my husband and I are looking forward to more time together.

Expand full comment

My 50s were my best decade. I was in good condition physically. I quit my job and went to grad school to learn an entirely new subject matter. I was studying with people who were generally young and full of optimism. After I graduated I began work I had never done before, and which I enjoyed a lot. I also met and married someone new and had a second son. It was a time of new beginnings in many ways

Expand full comment

Really tough question to answer! My 30s, in hindsight, were pretty great--three of my four kids were born. My 40s are best forgotten--divorce, job changes, a bad relocation decision, etc. My 50s were turbulent at the beginning (given everything referenced immediately above), but a wonderful second marriage and a bright at my job have me feeling good about things now!

Expand full comment

Late 70s/early 80s.

The sweet spot for me, early twenties. Lots of freedom, discovery, and adventures.

Expand full comment

I agree, my 50s were the best! I became a grandmother, retired, and along with my ex, bought 5 new homes on one block. One for each of our 3 children, for myself, and for my ex. This afforded our children to give us 8 beautiful grandchildren and we get to see each other often. They have easy babysitting, and it’s always somebody’s birthday...lots of family parties!

Expand full comment

I’m not sure I’ve ever had a bad decade!!! Adventure, trials, joys, sorrows, new arrivals, losses for sure! Life and death happened in every decade! Endings and beginnings! Birth and death! New and old! Strife and pleasure! Love, hate, indifference! Every thing a lesson--a learning! Now in my late 70s! I’m enjoying so much bounty and as always, new learnings! Wow!!! What a ride!!!

Expand full comment

I try not to idealize the past. It feels like a covert form of self-idealization. No, there wasn't a decade I'd do over. They all had their challenges and rewards. If forced, I'd say that the tribal communal hobo-voyager rock shows of the 60s were the best. The conformity bar had been set low enough to welcome many of us who didn't fit in anywhere else. That has happened precisely once in my lifetime. But there was much pathology as well. Many of my contemporaries didn't survive the 60s and 70s. As far as I'm concerned, nostalgia simply isn't what it was once cracked up to be. Keep hope alive.

Expand full comment

The 60’s are by far the best. My children are grown, living their lives. I retired in 2019. My husband of 42 years and I love to travel and we are enjoying discovering the world.

I don’t worry so much about what other people think or what I have and don’t have. I love my life. It’s not perfect, but I wanted to meet a man who would love me. Got that.

I wanted children. 2 beautiful daughters.

I wanted a good career. Had that.

I wanted to travel. I’m doing that.

Everything I dreamt about has or is happening.

Doesn’t get any better than this.

Expand full comment

Interesting question. So far my 60s have been pretty fab. I retired, and have a pension. Medicare is great insurance compared to the revolving door of employer companies followed by ACA for a few years. Our houses are both paid off. We really only need one car. Our daughter moved back from a far-flung state, fiancé in tow, has married a had 2 amazing Grandchildren for me to play with. They live a block away! Our son’s stint in Army is done and after. having done the Hollywood actor gig, the Army, he’s moving home and his long-time is moving here to boot. We have our health (mostly) still. We have a doggo and backyard birds and family

Who knows what tomorrow brings. Like the old song, “Today” seems good

Expand full comment

I'm hopeful for what is to come—the second half of my 60's and beyond... if I'm fortunate.

Expand full comment

Mine would be a long decade of 33 to 52 - as 52 began my life with Rheumatoid Disease. 33 I was a “Hottie” but had enough maturity not to take myself too seriously. I was healthy, had my newly divorced life straightened out and was ready to conquer the world, slay dragons , kick ass & take names. I was headed for whatever came next until it did - at 52. I might say as far as learning extreme patience & and growing older with my best friend- he is even more amazing now than 17 years ago. So physically from 33-52 but happy from 52 on - I am 67 and I may not be a hottie anymore, I am happy and thriving emotionally. 💖

Expand full comment

The 90s were a most excellent decade for me & my family

My husband's career as a Medical Director for Montgomery County's Mental Health Drug & Alcohol Abuse division was in full swing-I was the Principal of a large successful Preschool & K program. Our kids were in &/or graduating from HS & Colleges & we spent time together as adults-Glorious

BUT

In 2003 our eldest grandson arrived followed by 5 more & as we all fight for them & democracy?

We have the immense privilege of watching the next generation grow & thrive?

I think ( with any luck) the next 2 decades will be my best!

Expand full comment

My 50s were FABULOUS. I felt great and I was at the top of my game, career-wise. My 60s (I’m still in them) would have been better absent health issues, but I’m still active. I retired from a demanding and less-than-fulfilling job at 65 and have no regrets.

Expand full comment

I am 72. When I turned 50 my Mom said the fifties would be the best years of my life. She was right and I told her (93) so last week!

The children were independent, married and beginning their own families. My wife was a teacher and I the general manager of a large food manufacturing facility. We were both well paid. My wife had most of the summer off, I had six weeks of annual vacation to do some traveling and enjoy our place at the lake. As the decade went by, we knew we could retire anytime that work became too onerous. It happened when we were 57 and we have happily enjoyed retirement ever since.

Expand full comment
Jun 3, 2023·edited Jun 3, 2023

Chart based on data from surveys done by US Bureau of Labor Statistics in 2012, 2013 and 2021. People were asked to score their life satisfaction from 0 to 10, where 0 is the best possible life, 0 = the worst. Chart shows average scores by age for the three years. The best is yet to come, Steven!

file://var/mobile/Library/SMS/Attachments/65/05/A1BF3B3F-0DD5-40BB-9916-74E5A12237AA/IMG_4006.heic

Expand full comment

My 70s, post-retirement, for sure - Having finished with 50 years embedded in at first a nascent computer industry at IBM, being ahead of many of the technology breakthroughs (e.g., authoring "The Telephone as a Computer Terminal" in the Journal of the American Medical Association in 1969, writing the first PhD dissertation with a computer text editor, generating some of the earliest e-mails and digital transmissions at IBM, writing an analysis of Computer Games potential in 1966), the most satisfying work was in the entirely different world of political science, recognizing in the summer of 2020 the risks for the coming presidential election, and then working for the next two years with scholars and political activists to see the creation and passage of the Electoral Count Reform Act in December 2022, which is likely to avoid in 2024-25 the kind of crisis we had on January 6, 2021. You can track more of this story at our website, reformelectionsnow.org - never underestimate the power of an idea whose time has come.

Expand full comment

I've often thought ( 70s here ) that I could build on the successes and failures of previous years, so what's next continues to be my focus, one decade was not possible without the learning of the previous. I chose stability in a small city. This choice was and is based on the notion that you should make things better where you are, and not move to find better things. After a 40 year career in a museum, I now research, write and my work gets published.

Expand full comment

All of the decades have had value, accomplishment and joy, as well as challenge, loss and pain. In the last decade or so I have been trying to stay in the present moment. I find it helps me have a clear perspective on my past and less anxiety for my future.

Expand full comment

My 30s were definitely my prime :) Met the love of my life, became a Dad, became a blogger for the late lamented Skepchick network. It’s not like 40’s were terrible, and 50’s aren’t too bad at almost halftime. 20’s were one long Kevin Smith movie.

Expand full comment

Every decade of one's life should have memorable events, but my best were in my 20s, and I have forever remained 29 ! I loved going to college, meeting new friends, learning and how to cheat the dorm washing machine out of its quarter. The football games were great as was saying hello to JoePa when often passing him on the street. My dorm was next to Old Main,, and sometimes the chimes that rang out the hour would go haywire, and at 2, 3, 4 AM would ring maybe 15 times. When I was little, I took swimming lessons at the Y. I was trying to tread water in the deep end, couldn't and almost drowned. The instructor had never taught us how to breath. So when rescued, I ran out screaming I would never, never come back. I would have sworn at him had I known any words. So, wouldn't you know, Penn State required 2 semesters of swimming. Yikes ! Did beginners, everyone else went on to intermediate, I said nope ! Beginners again for me. I never have learned to swim. No sharks or boats for me. I t was also the only time I ever got a C. One in economics- understandable, the other, really, -field hockey !!

This was also the decade I gave birth to my first two children, sweet little people, hale and hardy, and bald. Nurse had to scotch tape a ribbon bow on daughter's head. Son went for first haircut at age 2, jumped down from barber chair, out of shop, and down the sidewalk he ran, me chasing him. My third came when I was 30. It can't be anything but the flu, I told the doctor. Ha! So now, she and I call her the flu baby, and I cannot imagine life without her.

The only regret for this time is that 6 months into marriage, I knew I had made a mistake, and it took me 21 years to rectify that. But I wouldn't have my three wonderful loves, so it was worth it.

And so, as I said, I remain 29 forever.

Expand full comment

I would say the current decade, my 60s, is the best. Hubby and I retired to Spain from Chicago and enjoy the sunny weather and relaxed lifestyle here. Our sons have lovely wives and very good jobs in San Francisco. So they are content too. When we can look away from the horrifying political developments in the US, which is hard to do as we are both political junkies, we are living in Paradise here and now.

Expand full comment

We kids were dropped like a handful of glass marbles, rolling fast in separate directions onto a looming dock in Piraeus. Collected by a friendly man in a giant old Mercedes and taken to a great-uncles house sitting dead center of a walled garden on the outskirts of Athens. Years later I realized Henry Miller was a few short kilometers away writing his shocking books. I like thinking of that even today.

We assumed we’d be seeing our dad sooner than later, but it turned out it wasn’t until the end of summer. Mom was fretting to take off as soon my dad could fly in for her, not hiding it from us. We’d become afterthoughts already. After a few confusing days and dozens of cousins later we were escorted to another ship heading for the island my dad and all my grandparents back to the 13th century had been born on. When we reached that tiny port at the village the ship stood out at anchor while smaller boats came out to collect us. It was early and before sunrise but as we were rowed to the modest dock the light came up like a curtain on the first Act.

We’d briefly lived on Long Island for the past two years, always missing Brooklyn, so I remember shrugging thinking this could be okay. It turned out it was. That’s when my teens started.

Expand full comment