47 Comments

Here's what I have been doing since 1972 & will continue to do:

1-I always VOTE

2-I donate $$ as I can

3-I write 100s of postcards, letters & have made calls (though I no longer make calls)

4-I tell my MOCs what I want of them & hold leaders accountable

5-I post on Social Media platforms as often as I can to share important news & events

6-Since GOP billionaires acquired over 90% of all US Media -I promote & amplify independent & progressive voices speaking truth to power

7-My oldest 2 grandkids are now registered Democrats ( 4 more to go -LOL) & are politically active

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I write letters to encourage people to vote. Writing letters to voters is one of the most effective ways to help increase election turnout. And you can do it right from home!

https://votefwd.org/

Expand full comment

There was a table setup at our smalltown library and the volunteer ladies were registering new voters. I asked them how could I become a volunteer for the 2024 elections to help at the polling places. They gladly gave me an application form (easy) and I filled it out on the spot.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

• Vote

• Harass anyone you know who is not registered to do so, and vote.

• Drive people to register and vote.

• Write letters expressing your opinion: newspapers, online, in comment sections of blogs, and more.

• Campaign to get media sources who wrap themselves in the Shroud of Turin, when on air claim to be news, but in court say they are in the entertainment business, OFF the airways.

• Donate to every campaign you are able to afford.

• Talk with anyone who supports trumpery, honestly try to find out what they see as the future UNDER MAGA. Ask if they are open to information. Try not to be judgmental… we all only know what our source of information tells us.

• Pay attention to local races as well as national.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I write postcards for other states. I live in LA where it is less needed... but know democracy will win, we are in this all together.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

Probably the best action to take for democracy at this time is my other neighbor (not the nasty MAGA ones). A life-long Republican, parents also, his entire family history..all Republicans. UNTIL, Trump came along. He got so fed up with his disgusting antics and politics, he went and changed his registration to Democrat. He said he's never voting Republican again! Now....only millions to go.

Expand full comment

1) Vote

2) Donate

3) Share Blue Voices

Expand full comment

Here's my boring, overblown

CIVICS CLASS response to Trump, social media, news corporations and, in my opinion, the lethargic DNC and Democratic elected officials as a whole. So sit down, get comfy, and let’s reflect on our situation.

If you never want to hear about Trump again, do something about it. One day I was so angry and felt like I had no control, and boom! I got it and started using my voice. As with anything in life, you have to work for it. Think of Donna Summer's mega-hit “She Works Hard for the Money” playing in the background.

Change

always

begins

at

the

👯‍♀️👯👯‍♂️👯‍♀️👯👯‍♂️

grassroots level.

Find your employees. Yes, you are a boss. Yes, your hard-earned money pays their salaries so be a boss. Talk to them. Tell them exactly what you expect from them. U.S. elected officials are paid through taxpayer funds as part of the federal budget.

Senators and Representatives, for example, earn $174,000 per year. Note also that elected officials also receive perks, including health insurance, retirement benefits, paid vacations, and allowances for official expenses such as office space, staff, and travel.

In addition, former members of Congress are eligible for a pension after a certain number of years of service. That means they get paid until they die. So let’s do nothing and let Lauren Boebert and Marjorie Taylor Greene get re-elected and we have to keep paying the hyenas in perpetuity. Do you feel like you're going to puke? Yep, I hear you.

Ms. Masto is one of my Senators so you can see there are numerous ways to contact her. And, Boy Howdy, do I ever. After all, I voted for her and pay her salary.

Catherine Cortez Masto, U.S. Senator

* Party affiliation:
Democratic Party


* Address:
313 Hart Senate Office Building,

* Washington, DC 20510

* Phone number:
(202) 224-3542

* Website:
cortezmasto.senate.gov

* Facebook:
@SenatorCortezMasto

* Twitter:
@sencortezmasto

LAS VEGAS

333 Las Vegas Boulevard South

Suite 8016

Las Vegas, NV 89101

P: (702) 388-5020  

F: (702) 388-5030

I do my homework on what my elected people are up to, including my fantabulous Mr. President, Joseph Robinette Biden Jr.. Yes, you can contact him. Yes, he has a legion of people with iPads in hand waiting to respond to you. You can even ask to be put on his Christmas card list. Yes, that really exists, Susan.

The threats Americans face come from within our borders. The social, political, and economic stability we know is in jeopardy, and there is clear evidence that one political party is intentionally destabilizing these pillars.

It has become obvious that our supposed shields are crumbling, revealing our susceptibility to authoritarianism, arrogance, and illogical behavior, just as in any other society.

The challenges we face today – the relentless debt dispute, rampant voter suppression, election rigging, and the growing popularity of authoritarianism among many – make clear that our societal norms are not invincible.

Addressing the domestic threats and challenges facing America (or any nation) requires a multifaceted approach that targets root causes and promotes unity. Here are some ideas on how to eliminate these problems.

- Civic education: reinforce the importance of civic education in schools and communities. Well-informed citizens are less susceptible to misinformation and manipulation.

- Election reforms:

- Transparent voting: introduce transparent and secure voting systems.

- Elimination of voter suppression: equal access to the ballot for all citizens, regardless of their demographic background.

- Campaign finance reform: Limit the influence of money in politics to reduce the influence of special interests.

- Strengthen checks and balances: ensure that the three branches of government operate effectively and independently to prevent undue concentration of power.

- Promote bipartisanship: encourage dialog and cooperation among political parties. This could include reforms such as ranked-choice voting or redistricting to reduce vote rigging.

- Media literacy: Introduce programs that teach people to critically analyze media sources and distinguish fact from fiction.

- Address economic inequalities: implement policies to reduce economic inequality to ensure equitable distribution of resources and opportunities.

- Promoting inclusive dialog: creating platforms where citizens can discuss and address societal issues in a constructive way, respecting different points of view.

- Leadership accountability: Leaders who abuse their power or spread falsehoods should face consequences.

- Promoting mental and emotional well-being: A society that places a high value on mental health is better able to deal with challenges rationally and empathetically.

- Promote national unity: Encourage programs and campaigns that invoke shared values and goals to create a sense of belonging and unity.

- Engage in global collaboration: Work with other nations to share best practices and learn from each other's successes and mistakes.

- Continuously monitor: Regularly assess the state of democracy, human rights, and societal well-being to immediately identify and address emerging issues.

We can make a difference by getting informed, voting, participating in community activities, and promoting understanding and dialog with each other.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I wanted a 2016 Hiliary sign for my yard after my (nasty) MAGA neighbor had huge Trump flags and signs on his yard. Despite it being against HOA rules. My county Democratic headquarters had 1 sign left. They gave it to me on the condition I would volunteer and go door-to-door in neighborhoods to fellow Demos to assure they intended to vote. It ended up being a good experience. I felt like I performed a good civic duty. Today in FL, I'd be a little more reluctant due to open carry...go to the wrong house and get shot and killed.

Expand full comment

Be vigilant about the threat from 3 party candidates that are stealth and shadow attempts to aide TFG. Show the source of the money and the support from Putin that is intended to split the anti-trump vote.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I've been doing "postcards to voters" for years and love how you can squeeze in a batch of 10 postcards, here and there as your schedule permits.

I've done a little bit of phone banking for candidates and try to donate when I can.

I've been thinking about taking the training to be a poll worker, but am still not entirely ready to take the plunge.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023·edited Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

We can buy mailing lists. Last time I bought one it was like $70 for 1000 people in the category I wanted. That was several years ago. Then I sit and address postcards, and write a message... usually a poem since I write poems. But sometimes just something like, "How would your life be better under a dictator?" "Do you think a dictator cares about your problems? Very short so they can take it in instantly.

Expand full comment

I show people how to check their voter registration online and then register them as necessary.

I help circulate petitions for important voter issues such as women's autonomy over their bodies, blocking voter suppression, and environmental protections.

I've hosted postcard patio parties, where we write postcards to inactive voters on important ballot issues or candidates. I've also hosted Candidate Review parties where we discuss each candidate on the ballot and their stances.

I help circulate Bar association information/Civic Engagement evaluations on judges up for retainment, so people can see who we need to keep on the bench and who needs to get gone.

I sign up to work the polls, either as a staffer or a volunteer observer.

I do not waste my breath talking to die hard Trumpers. The incredible scope of willful ignorance shoots my blood pressure into stroke range, and I won't look good in orange if I can't control my impulses to smack some sense upside their heads. I can have a civil conversation with conservatives, where we can agree to disagree without name-calling, but cult members are too far gone for me.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

1. VOTE

2. I will not vote alone. Talking to those I know, offer rides, etc. 1:1 conversations can be effective.

3. Volunteer poll worker, greeter. Some are intimidated to do this now- important we show up.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I write. I vote. I plead. I canvas. I have worked the polls. (The last time was 2016 and I became physically ill).

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I could do more than I do

I vote

Encourage pple to register and vote regardless of who they vote for

Give what I can to voter registration groups

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I have gotten involved with my local legislative district. In the past few years I've written hundreds of postcards, made phone calls, canvassed regularly and recently signed up to become a PC. I don't have a lot of money but I'm giving my time instead!

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I started a group on the social media platform called Democracy. I take every opportunity to remind people what’s really on the 2024 Ballot. I promote voting and I plainly state MY vote will be for Democracy and currently we only have one party who believes in Democracy.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I’m vocal on SM, I vote and am signed up to be an election worker. Every young person I meet, I ask if they’re registered to vote and encourage them to register and vote! Let’s kick some red a$$ next year!

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

HI, just to show differences in governing.... I live in Belgium whered voting used to be mandatory and a crime if one did not... that does not help public engagement toward causes but it does help...somehow.

Expand full comment

I just mailed in my ballot; and I have an online account with our local electoral system to check when it is received and counted. I spread the importance of voting by word of mouth; and in the past I have joined groups that send postcards and encourage others to vote, postcards especially to those for whom actions have been taken to suppress their vote. The URJ has a great program called: Your vote is your voice. I encourage to do whatever they can to keep our democracy strong through wide voter participation.

Expand full comment

I donate to democracy minded candidates.

I donate to The Lincoln Project and Indivisables

I post on social networks and share articles to same.

I engage with people to discuss what is at stake

Expand full comment

I am supporting at least a dozen dems for various positions in our government. I am volunteering for becoming an election worker. I am sending out post cards and texting.

Let's go team! It is for our Country for gods sake!

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I have written postcards to encourage people to vote, or to vote on certain issues. We give money to some of the issues oriented organizations and to political funds and politicians as we are able. (We are retired.) I always vote in all elections locally and nationally. I sign petitions from organizations we support, such as EDF, Common Cause, to help them influence action on various issues. I have also called and sent emails to our representatives and senators quite often.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I know that one person can make a difference in the world. From Caesar to Einstein, from Jesus to Churchill-names known by all. Unfortunately, we now have to add trump to that list, but in the same category as Hitler or Castro. I am in no official position and to old to become same, so all I can do is vote and if the occasion arises, try to influence. I receive emails from Montana to Ohio asking for donations. I have read of too many on both sides who use such money for personal reasons, so no-except a few. I gave a little to Fetterman , PA being my original grow up state. I like him. Great emails with a heart at the end and a sincere thank you. I like when Menendez said the found cash was a back up fund, and John wrote his family keeps an extra flashlight for emergencies. I have supported Move On and Vote Vets. They send me stickers, but living in Florida, should I put some of them on my car window, it might surely be smashed. I have said I work part time in a grocery store to get out of the house and earn what is a pittance. It is a pro Republican company, one of its receiver of funds gives to trump. I wore my red, white, and blue donkey pin. Nada. Mngr went to Cape Cod on vacation, I said maybe he would see the Obamas. Nope-doesn't like him. A fake pastor from Alaska was extolling Palin; I remarked her daughter not very upstanding either. He reported me, and I was reprimanded.

So now, mum's the word unless customer speaks up. If Dem, we hold a conversation. If Rep. I just say I disagree. In a way, I am doing my duty to serve even working where I fear some nut might (and has in other places) enter and shoot me.

On a lark last night, I tuned in Fox News. Some moron type and 4 guests were discussing which celebrity did each have a crush on when younger and did they ever meet them. This, when a gov't shut down hours away. I would like to see results of donated money, Schiff, M.Beschloss, Swalwell& sometimes, Porter are the only ones who appear and they on channels that trump supporters never watch. How about showing up on HGTV, NFL Football, Wheel of Fortune, Law and Order reruns? Tired of just seeing Flo, an emu, and the woman dancing for Jardiance. Individuals like myself can do little but vote, pray and cross fingers.. The "Names" should let their hair down, show up and stand out.

As Roy used to sing - Happy trails to you, 'till we meet again. Some trails are happy ones. Others are blue. It's the way you ride the trail that counts.

Expand full comment

I am very involved with my state’s Democratic Party..sending postcards out now and I will be a poll worker during election day this year. I am angry by I see from my elected officials I can't stand on the sidelines.

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

Aside from voting (the LEAST I can do), I’ve encouraged others to make sure they do as well.

I’ll ponder some of the suggestions noted here, Steven.

I felt inclined to state how much I enjoyed the photo attached to your post. Such a group of happy, young, involved voters is certainly reassuring to me for our future. Thanks for this.

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I engage online and try to educate people if I think that is possible. I vote. I contribute $ when I can. This year, for sure, I will write postcards and see what I can do locally. Though I only became politically aware and active about 30 years ago, I do not plan on stopping.

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2023Liked by Steven Beschloss

I'm too old to go door to door, or any of the direct ways to get out the vote. But I always vote in every election, as do my wife and son. I also contribute to candidates whose positions I support, and to other pro-democracy causes. I also write in support of candidates or causes that are pro-democracy.

Expand full comment

One small action I've taken, that everyone can do, is to research the suppliers and vendors you purchase products from. For yourself and your business. If the company is owned or managed by a trump/putin supporter, some of their profits are going to the trump campaign. So stop buying from them.

Think back to the 1930s when some American companies continued to do business with German companies that were supplying the Nazis. We are in that space again now.

For two examples: read the public pro-trump comments by the CEO of Uline. And consider the Pratt Corrugated Box Company. Owned by the fool that trump gave submarine secrets, who quickly spread the secrets to 45 others. If you buy from these companies, your money is supporting trump and putin.

Learn about the sources of the products you buy. The trump lovers don't hide their affection for fascism. If they love trump, find another supplier.

Expand full comment

I'm planning to volunteer for the opposing candidate for my Congressional district. I've been following news from the incumbent and her values are not my family's values.

Expand full comment

As powerful as postcards urging people to vote may be, maybe time to move on to more poignant questions. Next time MSNBC spews its pablum "In America (the land of milk and honey, nobody's above the law, dammit!" Values reign supreme!!! Trump is now being prosecuted. Sure. Simple question: For how many years (decades!) has Trump's (and other realtors) business practices been known? For how many years was the fraudulent conduct widely publicized -- and condoned! Were there no Dist Attys? Were there no State AG's? Were there no federal prosecutors? Were there no judges? Were there no CPA's? Everybody does it is not a legal defense. But it's still true. Some are just more blatant than others. Trumps defense is not that his conduct was legal. It's that illegality was an accepted business practice. Everyone was in on the game. Disclaimers disclaimed liability for fraud -- so there!!! Right. Stupid argument except it worked for decades. So when MSNBC spouts high and might virtues, ask when America became virtuous? In the 80's? 90's? Early 2000s? And how many other Trump-alikes are there, escaping legal responsibility for the same conduct. It's maybe a bit early to start donning the mantle of "In America, everyone is the above the law." Progress is not going to be made by closing your eyes and pretending to live in a utopia that never was.

Expand full comment

I Can think of a worse scenario than Donald Trump being elected to his second term or any other Republican or Democrat including the incumbent being elected to The White House and that is Florida Governor Ron DeSantis becoming POTUS Ron DeSantis.

Expand full comment

More than six million US citizens reside in foreign countries and ALL can vote, including thousands of college students studying overseas.

We vote overwhelmingly for Democrats.

Know any?

Have then request their ballot via votefromabroad.org

Expand full comment

My vision for democracy is direct governance by its citizens. Issues, ideas, voting is done electronically and implemented by NGOs chosen by a public vote and monitored by interested citizens against project plans and milestones. Projects are paid for by those who want to donate to them. These donations substitute for taxes that represent each tax payer’s interests. Each tax payer must donate a minimum tax that goes up based on income. There is a living wage paid to each citizen who participates in the processes. There is no president, no legislature and no judges, just ordinary citizens who express their values in their votes.

This vision will be presented in great detail on substack along with the process to move toward it. Direct democracy by the majority can save us and our planet. Our continued direction will destroy our chances to survive…

Expand full comment