15 Comments
Jul 16, 2022Liked by Steven Beschloss

Summer meant the beach, either to stay with my grandparents or go with friends when a bit older. I loved the ocean, watching the tides coming in and going out, building sand castles, even watching men fishing, walking the boardwalk and eating ice cream. Today I live in the desert, far from the ocean, so summer brings the beauty of flowers, warmth, fresh tomatoes right off the vine, and clear skies, sometimes studded with clouds.

Expand full comment

Sitting on the porch stairs, as a little girl , the sound of no sounds, watching

nothing, the air sounded different, smelled different made me feel different. What a huge contribution to my inner self. I was too young to get it then. But I treasure the memories now.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2022Liked by Steven Beschloss

Summertime is our opportunity for gatherings, road trips, living outdoors. Living simpler again.

Expand full comment

Summer in Arizona text some adjusting if you want to hike or play golf you need to do it at 6 AM I generally swim between six and nine in order to avoid the extreme afternoon heat. You need to grocery shop in the morning get gas and run errands then hibernate unless of course you’re working in an air-conditioned office and it’s not a big deal.  The other option is to bitch about the heat but that’s not productive.  A summer trip to the Grand Canyon is also a welcome option. Best to adjust and remember- in winter we don’t have to shovel snow! and – we can swim 365. Outdoors!

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2022Liked by Steven Beschloss

Tour de France.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2022·edited Jul 16, 2022Liked by Steven Beschloss

Amazing you posted this on Saturday. Saturdays in the summer are special days because the world seems to take a collective ex-hale, because en groupe we can enjoy our days, roller blading, hiking, museuming, or just getting ready for a family barb-a- Que. summer is felt most by relaxing- so days when so many fewer are at work, allows, just that. We are at a wedding this weekend, in Sun Valley and last night the moving and funny tales of the couples lives set me on a pensive route, that only weddings can do- except of course your writing, Stephen- you have a way of bringing such warmth and safety when you share your stories, about, well anything. That is to me, at the heart of it, what summer too, is really about- warmth and safety.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2022Liked by Steven Beschloss

In high school, I was head majorette and led the band at halftime performances, & in the summer, I led the Bradford,PA YMCA Kiltie Band,drum & bugle ensemble, all ages, that traveled to different towns for competitions, afterwards, milling about the accompanying fairs/carnivals.Once, the cutest preppy fellow started following me, we rode the ferris wheel together, the attendant letting us ride forever; he and a friend hitchhiked to see me from Hornell,NY, sleeping overnight on a park bench and hitchhiking 12 hours to get home the next day. I worked at a Loblaws grocery to earn $ to buy him a cashmere sweater for Xmas. He went on to Lehigh, I to Penn State, and we lost touch. So, 100 years later ; ) I found him on Facebook and we have been pen pals for 5 years. That was the best summer. As an adult, I worked summers and winters as sub teacher and realtor supporting 3 children and a house mostly by myself as ex really was an X. Though once, my girls and I drove to Chapel Hill, NC to check out housing, thinking of moving from NJ, went for a night walk, back to room and watched for first time Weekend at Bernies and laughed together a lot. As long as that close, we drove on to Jacksonville, FL, had the best steak ever, the plate arriving with an orchid on it, then on to the beach and St.Augustine, checking out Believe it or Not place. I drove through the night to get back home, but that was about the only vacation we ever took, and it was very memorable.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2022Liked by Steven Beschloss

We had a catalpa tree in the back yard that had been split by lightning and the two parts were held together by an iron bar. Half of the tree bent out in an L shape and it was a perfect place to lie and read. I could read, watch what was going on in the neighborhood, or just close my eyes and listen to the sounds of summer.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2022Liked by Steven Beschloss

The rustle of Cottonwood trees takes me back to my grandparents cottage on Seneca Lake and carefree days.

I remember playing outside with my friends until it was too dark to see. And yes, the lighting bugs, which I can still see today.

Expand full comment
Jul 16, 2022Liked by Steven Beschloss

I'm in Maine and blueberries are not cheap here where they're grown but lobster is way down. Lake water is still very cold but I'll take to my new stand up paddle board soon. Fishing in the Northeast but miss fishing in Montana. That will happen again.

Expand full comment

Approaching summer means my birthday is soon to arrive. A few days of receiving well wishing texts, emails and calls, a couple of lunches and dinners out with friends and or family. I share my BD with my son, who this year turned a sobering 45. To fathom that I have a 45 year old son is surreal to me at my young at heart 67..I had suggested to him that it was a big BD. “Nonsense” he tells me, “50 will be the big one”..So with optimism like that, I rase my glass to him and hope we are all still here!!

Expand full comment

That first ripe strawberry 🍓

Expand full comment

Walking outside in the early morning. Walking outside at dusk and watching the sunsets. Going to the Berkshires. And this year, watching the Mets win. #LGM

Expand full comment